16/365 Carnival

“God put us here on this carnival ride, we close our eyes never knowing where it will take us next.” ~ Carrie Underwood

2014-04-19 18.39.51-1_2_tonemapped

 

Isn’t that the truth!?!?

Thinking back just 10 years, it’s amazing how much things have changed, how much I have grown, and where my journey has taken me.  10 years ago, I was a 24 years old, a single mom of 3 with a fiancee, living in a small shack in the middle of nowhere, one crappy car, had no TV or internet or telephone, and  didn’t have any money-actually owed more than I earned by far.  At that one moment, I thought life was hopeless.  I didn’t think that my journey would get any better than it was.  It was a harder time in my life.  Now, looking back, I really wished I had more faith, faith in myself, god, and my soon to be husband.

My life now isn’t what I pictured it would be, it’s better.  After years of hard work from both my husband and I, we are now reaping in the rewards.  We now own our own home, I am super happy being home with my children, we have a yard that is all our own, hubby doesn’t have any more creditors, both of our credit scores went way up, we own 2 cars so I don’t have to share with him anymore, we have extra fun things like a camper and kayaks, and my hubby has a better job, one in which he won an award for and got a promotion.  Because of this, we are so much happier, happier than I ever thought possible.

I have grown so much, I have found my passion for photography & writing, and I have done a few things I never ever seen myself doing like canning, farmer’s markets (as a vendor), making & trying different recipes, diy things and other homesteading ideas, started my family and artist blog, I was asked to create my own workshop & teach it, I was asked to do a 5 week group to share my frugal ideas and to show others that anyone can get healthy on any budget, and discovered my passion for writing.  And As of the last few months, I have embraced minimalism, and starting my journey with that.  I am a completely different person than I was, with different goals and ideas.  Now I couldn’t imagine anything else.  Each of our journeys are so amazing, since each are filled with joyful and sad memories, ups and downs, twists and turns.  If you look back at yourself 10 years ago, I am sure you will see how much you have grown.  So, all those moments, where you wonder how important your daily tasks really are, how you are making a contribution.  Don’t count those moments but take a step back and look at how far you have come.

Is your life now, the way you pictured it would be 10 years ago?  Or have things completely changed for you?

 

linked to:

My Memory Arthttp://www.alifeinbalance.net/motivation-monday-linky-party-88/Inspire Me Monday

 

32 responses to “16/365 Carnival

  • pavanneh

    No. My life has completely changed. I thought I would be living in the home we had forever. I loved the house and the area we lived. (My father built the house.) But, we lost the house, I lost my job and my health has not gotten better. I thought I would be so much better off by now if the plan had stayed the same. Or would I? I was miserable in the job I had after I retired from the Navy. The house had major issues and family issues were draining me physically and emotionally. I have had to learn that it is necessary to let go of “things” and sometimes of “people” in order to grow and move forward. It will take time, but I think the path I am on will lead to a much better place than I was ten years ago.

    Like

    • seraireland

      I agree. Sometimes, letting go in order for you to grow. Your realization is something I have been working on for myself over the last 2 years. I realized that there are some people and things that I needed to let go in order to move forwards, which in turn has made my life a whole lot happier. I made a goal that only people and things that make me happy, where allowed in my life. I slowly got out of all my toxic relationships and attachment to things that didn’t do anything for me or that I didn’t have a need for. And I have never been happier. 🙂

      Like

  • amforte66

    Great quote, picture and post. What a wonderful life story you have to tell. 🙂 I loved it!!

    Like

  • Brandi

    I’m definitely not where I thought I would be, but I’m excited to see where I’ll be in another 10!

    Like

  • abrianna

    Lovely shot. I never knew that in the past 10 years I would have two cross country moves since we are not a military family. I did not know how much I would enjoy photography, nor did I know that as much as I like color, I also like black and white.

    Like

    • seraireland

      Thanks.
      I love black and white, which I didn’t realize till I started doing my own photography.
      Two cross country moves….that’s big huh? I couldn’t imagine doing that with my kids. It would be crazy. But how fun from a photographer perspective.

      Like

  • Adrienne

    Carnival ride is right – especially when you throw kids into the mix!

    Like

  • Karen

    Interesting post! Life would be so boring if I ended up where I envisioned myself. That’s the beauty of Faith. Knowing that God has a plan for us, that we may not know about, is comforting….but can be scary too. Enjoy the ride! Beautiful photo. I love that that sky!

    Like

  • jesh stg

    God takes us to places we’ve never dreamed of, but I hope it’s not a roller coaster, lol.

    Like

  • Peabea

    Your photo and sharing of your story fits life perfectly. Mine has definitely been a roller coaster, but we’ve managed to hang on. 🙂

    Like

  • HansHB

    A great contribution to the b&w theme! Nice edit too!
    My B&W Blog: http://hanshb.wordpress.com/

    Like

  • Laura Connell (@laurakimconnell)

    Wow, what an encouraging post! 10 years ago I would NEVER think I would be where I am now. I love the meme: “My life could be summed up in one sentence: it didn’t go the way I planned and that’s OK.”

    Like

    • seraireland

      Thank you. 🙂
      Like you said, even if life didn’t turn out the way you planned,it’s OK. There is a reason it played out the way it did. Everything happens for a reason, even when we can’t see it.

      Like

  • Deb Wolf (@BlessingCounter)

    I just found you through God’s Girl Linkup. I’m so glad I did. Looking back on the past ten years I would have to say it’s been like The Screamin’ Eagle, but by God’s grace we were never left to walk a moment alone. We are counting each and every blessing and praising God for His faithfulness. Blessings!!

    Like

  • pushpinderkaur23

    I am only 23, so obviously 10 years ago I had not imagined my life to be what it is now.
    Change is scary and makes us nervous. There is always some sort of uncertainty of What-If kinds. And the hard times seem like the end of the world. The most important thing for us is to have faith that everything will work out the way it should.

    Like

    • seraireland

      It’s so interesting thinking back 10 years no matter your age. I am sure what you thought at 13 isn’t the same as 23. That’s quite a difference. I completely agree change is scary, that’s why some people avoid it, even when it could mean better things for them.

      Like

  • Las Vegas Refrigerator Repair

    I am sure this article has touched all the internet viewers, its really really nice article
    on building up new webpage.

    Like

  • Las Vegas Whirlpool Repairman

    Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to
    find good quality writing like yours these days. I honestly
    appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

    Like

    • seraireland

      Thank you so much. That is so nice of you to say such kind things about my blog. It made my day, when I read this during our vacation. I couldn’t help but smile the whole day since I never considered myself a strong writer. So your comments mean a lot to me 🙂

      Like

  • mobile games

    When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the idea of a user
    in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    Therefore that’s why this article is outstdanding. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  • seraireland

    Reblogged this on Living Intentionally Simple and commented:

    It’s time for another Throwback Thursday post. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did writing it 🙂

    Like

  • psbarton99

    I was so captivated by your story, I couldn’t stop reading it. I love that you have found happiness not only with yourself but your family has found happiness as well. No my life is not what I pictured it 10 yrs. ago. Life is still good for me, but as life goes on, we get older and now its getting time for retirement. I just recently started blogging and I love it, it is so rewarding and I have met some incredible bloggers. I shared your post on twitter and google plus. It’s been great co-hosting with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • seraireland

      Thank you so much for such a nice comment. It means a lot to me 🙂
      I’m so glad you found something you love doing and keep doing it. It’s important for us to do that. I too blog because it brings me alot of joy and happiness. I love both my blogs, writing, & meeting new people and doing it all in a positive way. Thank you for sharing my post on those sites, I truly appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

